The Differences In Pokemon Black And White


Pokemon Black and White were released in 2010 in Japan and 2011 in North America, Europe, and Australia. These games marked the fifth generation of Pokemon games and introduced many new features and changes to the series. In this article, we will explore the differences between Pokemon Black and White.


The story of Pokemon Black and White takes place in the region of Unova, which is based on New York City. The player character starts their journey in a small town and sets out to explore the region, catch new Pokemon, and battle Gym Leaders to earn badges. The main antagonist team in these games is Team Plasma, which seeks to liberate Pokemon from their trainers.

Version-Exclusive Pokemon

As with previous Pokemon games, Pokemon Black and White have version-exclusive Pokemon. Some Pokemon can only be found in Black, while others can only be found in White. For example, Black has exclusive Pokemon like Reshiram, Braviary, and Vullaby, while White has exclusive Pokemon like Zekrom, Mandibuzz, and Rufflet.

Legendary Pokemon

The legendary Pokemon in Pokemon Black and White are Reshiram and Zekrom. In Black, the player can catch Reshiram, while in White, the player can catch Zekrom. These Pokemon have different designs and abilities, but they both play important roles in the story of the game.


Pokemon Black and White introduced a new feature where the seasons would change in real-time. This means that depending on the month and time of year, the game’s environment and wild Pokemon would change. For example, in the winter, some areas would be covered in snow, and certain Pokemon would become more common.

Gym Leaders

The Gym Leaders in Pokemon Black and White are different from those in previous games. Each Gym Leader has a unique personality and design, and their teams are more diverse than in past games. Additionally, the player must battle a new set of Elite Four members and the Champion to become the Pokemon League Champion.

Unova Pokemon

Pokemon Black and White introduced over 150 new Pokemon to the series. These Pokemon are unique to the Unova region and have their own designs, abilities, and types. Some notable Unova Pokemon include Oshawott, Snivy, Tepig, Zoroark, and Hydreigon.

Triple Battles and Rotation Battles

Pokemon Black and White introduced two new battle formats: Triple Battles and Rotation Battles. In Triple Battles, each side uses three Pokemon at once, and the positioning of the Pokemon on the field matters. In Rotation Battles, each side uses three Pokemon, but only one is active at a time, and the player can rotate their Pokemon to gain an advantage.


Pokemon Black and White were a significant departure from previous Pokemon games. They introduced many new features and changes to the series, including new Pokemon, version-exclusive Pokemon, seasons, Gym Leaders, and battle formats. While these games may not be everyone’s favorite, they were certainly a bold step forward for the series and remain beloved by many fans today.

Check Also

The Benefits Of 70 Tinted Windows

The Benefits Of 70 Tinted Windows

Introduction When it comes to car accessories, window tints are popular among car owners. They …